Horn Walter Burley Awards nominations being accepted until April 23, 2023

Ohio public schools, community schools, career centers, and county boards of developmental disabilities are encouraged to recognize the accomplishments of Ohio educators and students with disabilities by nominating them for these annual achievement awards. The awards will be held virtually on June 6, 2023 from 1:00 – 3:00. Invitations will be sent at a later date.

This year nominations for the Horn, Walter, and Burley Awards are being collected digitally. The nomination window for the R.A. Horn and Franklin B. Walter awards runs until April 28, 2023. The Margaret M. Burley award nomination window ends on March 13, 2023. All Release forms are due April 28, 2023.

  • The R.A. Horn Outstanding Achievement Award (Nomination Form) recognizes the accomplishments of one exemplary special education student from each of Ohio’s 16 State Support Team regions.
  • Franklin B. Walter Outstanding Educator Award (Nomination Form) is presented to one educator or team from each of Ohio’s 16 State Support Team regions for extraordinary contributions to the education of students with disabilities.
  • Margaret M. Burley Award (Nomination Form) In addition, the Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities Executive Committee will select an Ohio parent of a child with disabilities.

The Consent to Release forms are still physical paper copies that need to be printed, filled out, signed, scanned and e-mailed back to Sarah Daugherty at OCECD.

Additional Information on the awards and past winners are available on our website under Expos & Awards. Any questions can be directed to Tamie Cruz.

The annual Horn Walter Burley Awards are sponsored by the Ohio Coalition for the Education of Children with Disabilities (OCECD) with assistance from Ohio’s State Support Teams.